Support/users

Roles and Permissions

Kinabase allows you to allocate roles and then grant permissions to Users based on these roles.

Adding Roles

From the Dashboard, if you click on Invite your colleagues, you will see the screen below.

  • Click on the Set up roles and permissions link. This will take you to the User tab.
  • If you then click on the Roles tab, you will be taken to the screen below.

You can then use this screen to create the different roles in order to ensure users have access to the information they need.

  • If you click on the Add button, you will then be able to add Roles.
  • Once you are happy with the role name and description, click OK.

Assigning Roles

Now, when you click on Colleagues in the Sidebar, you will be able to assign Roles to each User. To do this:

  • Click on the User you wish to assign a role to.
  • You will then be able to click the Edit button and set which roles are assigned to the user
  • Then click OK.

You can repeat this process for as many Roles and Users as necessary.

Setting Permissions

Once you have set up Roles and Users, you will then need to go into your Collections and set the relevant permissions. To do this:

  • Click on the relevant collection in the Sidebar.
  • Click on the Options menu (⋯) and select Configure.
  • Select the Permissions tab. You will then see the screen below:

Click on the dropdown menu to change who is able to Read or Modify a Record.

If you choose Role-specific, you will then have the option to select the role using the dropdown menu.

There is also the option to set permissions to allow non-admins to configure the Collection.

Below this, you are then able to set separate permissions for Activities and Tasks. This allows you to set read and modify options again to nobody, role-specific or everyone for each.

Click Update to save your changes.

Repeat for any other collections, as necessary.

Bulk Data

You can also control which roles are allowed to import, export and delete records in bulk separately to the normal read and modify permissions.

Please see the video below that talks you through setting up Bulk-Data Permissions.

Or alternatively follow the steps below.

Setting bulk-data permissions

  • Navigate to the relevant collection
  • Click the Options menu (⋯) in the top right of the window, and then click on the Configuration Cogs
  • Click on the Permissions tab
  • Scroll to find Bulk Permissions
    • Click the Bulk Permissions toggle to enable separate permissions.

Bulk Permissions Config

  • You can set permissions for the following;
    • Importing Records
    • Exporting Records
    • Bulk Deleting Records
  • Under one of the above permission groupings, use the drop-down to select from ""Everyone"", ""Role-Specific"" or ""Nobody""
  • If you have selected Role-Specific, a second drop-down will list the roles in your company.
    • Use this to select one or more roles that will be granted this permission
  • Once you are happy with you permissions, scroll to the bottom of the permissions screen and click Update.