Support/files

Using the Files Tab

The Files tab allows you to upload files against a record.

Enabling the Files Tab

The Files tab can be toggled on or off on a per Collection basis.

  • Click on the Collection in the sidebar.
  • Click on the options menu (...) to the top right of the screen.
  • Click Configure.
  • Navigate to the Files Configuration Tab and toggle files on.
Enable files toggle

Files Tab Permissions

Access to the Files tab is controlled by the files Permissions against the collection.

Navigate to the Permissions Tab to update read and write access to files.

If a user does not have read access to a certain collection's files the tab will not appear for them. If a user does not have write access they will be able to see the tab but will not be able to upload or delete files.

Collection file permissions.

Uploading Files

Once enabled, and providing you have the necessary permissions, you will be able to use the Files tab.

There are 3 distinct ways of adding a file:

  • Drag and drop to upload.
  • Upload through file explorer.
  • Create a new Word, PowerPoint, or Excel document from the Kinabase interface.

If a file is dragged and dropped into the Files tab, it will automatically upload to your SharePoint site, and you will see a progress spinner while this is happening.

Kinabase File tab

Viewing and Deleting Files

Files that you have uploaded will appear in a list in the Files tab.

Delete file context menu.

Viewing Files

In order to view a file you can:

  • Click the menu button (...) on the right of the file and select View.
  • Right click the file and select View.
  • Double click the file.

If you are using SharePoint as a file storage provider you will be redirected to the SharePoint web interface with the selected file open.

Deleting Files

In order to Delete a file you can:

  • Click the menu button (...) on the right of the file and select Delete.
  • Right click the file and select Delete.

You will be presented with a modal asking you to confirm that you wish to Delete this file.

Deleting a file will remove it from your file storage provider, this cannot be reversed

If a Record is deleted, and you are using SharePoint as your file storage provider, all files which were associated to that record will be moved to the Deleted folder.

Similarly if a Collection is deleted, all files associated to records in that Collection will be moved to the Deleted folder.

Uploading files when filling in forms

You can allow users to upload a file as they fill in forms within Kinabase, by adding a File or Image field. Files which are uploaded here will also appear in the Files tab, if it is enabled, and be saved in SharePoint.